11 Cooper Seniors Named Scholars by National Hispanic Recognition Program

The John Cooper School National Hispanic Scholars, from left: Jason Weinstein, Victor Kareh, Mark Flanagan, Chase Juszczak, Kaitlyn Ramirez, Jessie Brown, Peyton Hayes, Nicole Juszczak, Alfredo Garcia Sanchez, Gina Valderrama and Christina Rivela.

THE WOODLANDS – The 2016-17 National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) selected eleven students from the Cooper Class of 2017 as National Hispanic Scholars.

Established in 1983, the National Hispanic Recognition Program is a College Board program that provides national recognition of the exceptional academic achievements of Hispanic/Latino high school seniors and identifies them for post-secondary institutions. In order to be eligible, students must be at least one-quarter Hispanic/Latino, as defined by the NHRP, meet the minimum PSAT cutoff score by state, and achieve a minimum grade point average requirement.